Voice of the Shuttle

I am re-reading Weaveworld by Clive Barker. This book is a piece of genius and I absolutely loved it when I first read it in the *cough* late eighties. I have decided to re-read it after seeing it on a shelf at Borders and having a moment of nostalgia. It wil be interesting to see if it lives up to my expectations.
Last night I read the first three chapters and things look promising. Immacolata is every bit the evil protagonist I remember and her sisters still have the ability to make the reader shudder. Shadwell is scarily familiar to anyone who lives in the modern world and so makes a plausible adjunct to the evil team.
Cal has just been taken by these characters and we are waiting to find out how he will get out of this situation. I always like to stop reading at a moment like this so that I prolong the suspense. Next time, let’s see what happens.

Leave a Reply

